We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

AGM success for Hinckley and Bosworth Lib Dems

December 2, 2018 8:42 PM

Bosworth Liberal Democrats held a successful Annual General Meeting recently.

A packed room elected the local party officers for the next year and heard how the party was going forwards locally.

Cllr Michael Mullaney Lib Dem parliamentary candidate for Bosworth spoke at the meeting "Local Lib Dems are needed more than ever to campaign for local residents. Here in Leicestershire we have the worst funded council by the Conservative government, this means residents face rocketing Council Tax bills whilst vital services continue to be cut.

"We also have some of the lowest funded schools in the country and our local NHS is not getting the support it needs.

"Despite electing Conservative MPs and Councils our area continues to be at the back of the queue when it comes to funding for local services from the Conservative government. The local Lib Dem team and myself will continue to campaign and lobby for our area to get the fair share of funding for public services our growing area needs.

"In elections in 2018 we continued to demonstrate that the Lib Dems are the main opposition to the Conservatives locally. In March we gained a Town Council seat in Earl Shilton whilst in October we finished just 16 votes behind the Conservatives in an election in Barwell. If people in Hinckley and Bosworth want a change from the Conservatives locally in next May's local elections, the Lib Dems are clearly the main alternative locally."

Speaking at the meeting Chairman David Bill added "With the Government clearly totally preoccupied with the European issue I very much hope that is not long before they turn their attention to the pressing problem of the underfunding of our police, schools and health services. The problems are clearly getting worse locally."

The officers elected were
Honorary President Valerie Bill
Chairman David Bill
Vice-Chairman Mathew Hulbert
Secretary Ann Crabtree
Treasurer Keith Lynch